Count Don Rutherford Cardinal Johnson's passion for going off the beaten path began during his time in Boy Scouts. Having already crossed the equator at the age of 2, the Cardinal's Scouting experience included backcountry wilderness experience on foot and by canoe, survival training, cave exploration, and environmental conservation work. He is also an experienced horseman and high altitude mountaineer and has professional credentials as a cartographer and geospatial analyst. That experience laid the groundwork for subsequent field science and research that has taken place on three continents and in both urban areas and remote locations. Projects have included such themes as environment safety and conservation, land use, cross-cultural understanding, and investigation into the effects of high altitude and extreme environment on human behaviou/r and decision-making. In recognition of his work, the Cardinal was elected to membership in the famed Explorers Club in New York, and he was an active member for a decade. Don Rutherford's field work has been published in peer-reviewed academic journals and presented at institutions of higher learning around the world.

Above the Arctic Circle.

Sandstorm in Inner Mongolia from the Gobi Desert.

Authored Works


Humanitarian Service






Walsingham Guard

Global Economics

Global Ecclesial Charities


Official Website of Cardinal Count Rutherford Johnson of Sainte Animie, Archprc. of Florence, Patriarch of St. Stephen
Entire Contents © Copyright 2008-2016. All Rights Reserved.
Page provided in International English.

The Religious and Military Patriarchate of St. Stephen, Old Holy Roman Church of the English Rite, is an ancient, autonomous, semi-autocephalous traditional Old Roman Catholic Patriarchate with Anglican patrimony descended from the Roman Catholic See of Utrecht. The See of Utrecht has remained independent since 1145, when the Holy See in Rome granted autonomy. Modernly known as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church (ARRCC), the Patriarchate is faithful to the magisterium of eternal Rome and the eternal One, Holy, Catholic, Apostolic, and Roman Church. Although administratively independent, the See embraces as brethren other Catholic and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, and the Anglican Communion.